All you need to know about the Zayed Cricket Stadium

  • 0

For the third season running, the Zayed Cricket Stadium in the United Arab Emirates (UAE) will be the venue for the swashbuckling Abu Dhabi T10 league.

After the first two editions, 2017 and 2018, were held at Sharjah, Abu Dhabi T10 moved to the state-of-the-art Zayed Cricket Stadium in 2019 and has called the venue home since. Abu Dhabi T10 season 5 will do the same.

Here’s everything you need to know about the Zayed Cricket Stadium.

Zayed Cricket Stadium: Origin, build, capacity and milestones

Inaugurated in May 2004, the Zayed Cricket Stadium was named after his highness Sheikh Zayed bin Sultan Al Nahyan – the first president of the UAE.

One of the modern cricketing venues, the venue is considered one of the finest around in terms of features and facility. Despite primarily having been used as a cricket ground, the Zayed Cricket Stadium has also hosted a football friendly between Oman and Thailand in 2019.

With two large stands (North and Pavilion End) on either long sides of the pitch, the area square of the wicket is open with grass bankings for spectators to sit on. The architecture gives the stadium the feel of a grand open amphitheatre. The stadium can seat 20,000 spectators.

The first-ever international cricket match at the stadium was a first-class match between Scotland and Kenya in the Intercontinental Cup in November 2004. Over the past 17 years, the venue has played hosts to multiple matches of all formats, Test, ODI, T20Is.

The Zayed Cricket Stadium was also one of the four venues which hosted the ICC T20 World Cup 2021.

Known to house a very balanced surface, matches at the Zayed Cricket Stadium are often highly competitive. To illustrate 11 of the 15 Test matches played at the venue to date has yielded a result – a high percentage for the longest format of cricket.

Abu Dhabi T10 records at the Zayed Cricket Stadium

With the Abu Dhabi T10 shifting to the Zayed Cricket Stadium in 2019, the first-ever Abu Dhabi T10 match played at the venue was between Maratha Arabians and Northern Warriors – the season 3 opener – on November 15.

The venue has witnessed several thrilling matches, including records since then. Here are a few records set so far.

Highest individual score: Chris Lynn (Maratha Arabians) 91* vs Team Abu Dhabi in Season 3

Best bowling figures: Fabian Allen (Team Abu Dhabi) 4/13 vs Northern Warriors in Season 4

Highest team total: Northern Warriors 162/4 vs Bangla Tigers in Season 4

Lowest team total: Pune Devils 57/7 vs Delhi Bulls in Season 4

Highest successful run chase by a team: Team Abu Dhabi 130-5 (8.3 overs) beat Pune Devils (129/4) in Season 4

Abu Dhabi T10 keeps an eye on the future with Cricket-E-India Talent Hunt
Prev Post Abu Dhabi T10 keeps an eye on the future with Cricket-E-India Talent Hunt
Roll of honour: The Abu Dhabi T10 champions
Next Post Roll of honour: The Abu Dhabi T10 champions

Leave a Comment:

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *