2021 ADT10      November 19, 2021 to December 04, 2021

Top stars on board as T10 League sets base in Abu Dhabi

Abu Dhabi T10

Source | Sport360  Aug 07, 2019

The path-breaking T10 League is ready to reach the next level after joining hands with Abu Dhabi. After two successful season at the iconic Sharjah Cricket Stadium, the T10 League has shifted base to the Zayed Cricket Stadium in Abu Dhabi after signing a five-year deal.

Backing from major entities like Abu Dhabi Tourism, Abu Dhabi Sports Council and Abu Dhabi Cricket means the stage is set for a blockbuster third edition in November.

On Wednesday, some of the biggest names in franchise cricket put their names in the hat for the 2019 Abu Dhabi T10 draft.

England’s World Cup-winning captain Eoin Morgan, Pakistan veteran Shoaib Malik, Windies all-rounder Darren Sammy, Sri Lankan icons Angelo Matthews and Lasith Malinga, Australia star Shane Watson and Caribbean legends Andre Russell, Kieron Pollard and Dwayne Bravo are some of the names who will be a part of the spectacle.

It is a major moment in the UAE and Abu Dhabi cricket and His Excellency Aref Al Awani, General Secretary of Abu Dhabi Sports Council, concurred: “Up and down the Abu Dhabi T10 roster you will find world-class talent, big personalities and the best possible ambassadors of the game. We could not be happier at the timing of this partnership to bring the brightest stars in cricket to the UAE, such as Eoin Morgan.”

The brains behind the concept and T10 Sports Management Group Founder and Chairman, Shaji Ul Mulk, was proud of how far the league and format have come.

“The game is changing as evidenced by the phenomenal success of T20,” said Shaji Ul Mulk. “This recent World Cup was also the most-watched ever. However, in order to continue to grow, it’s critical to showcase the best stars on big stages outside India, England and Australia, where it is already hugely popular.

“That’s why partnering with the Government of Abu Dhabi to host T10 on a long-term basis is a natural win-win for everybody who will now get to experience unparalleled cricket action in a truly unforgettable atmosphere.”

In all, eight teams – Kerala Knights, Bengal Tigers, Northern Warriors, Pakhtoon, Deccan Gladiators, Punjabi Legends, Maratha Arabians and Rajput – will be vying for the top prize at the end of the year.

Abu Dhabi Cricket CEO, Matt Boucher, said: “We feel we’ve bolstered the capital’s glowing portfolio of world-class events by ensuring that Abu Dhabi becomes a must-see ticket on the global cricket calendar for the next five years and what this means for the growth of the sport in the region. It’s another big stride in the growth of cricket in Abu Dhabi and we’re grateful to both the Department of Culture and Tourism Abu Dhabi and the Abu Dhabi Sports Council for making this happen.”