Rashid Khan, Andre Russell to feature in T10 league Season 2

Source: Hindustan Times I 24th July 2018

The T10 league is back for its second season and this time, it will feature big names like Brendon McCullum, Andre Russell and Afghanistan spinner Rashid Khan.

The organisers of the Dubai-based cricket league has decided to increase the number of participating teams from four to six and on Monday, the franchises met in a mini-draft to bid on the marquee players and their retentions.

Rashid Khan joined Maratha Arabians for the upcoming season of the tournament while compatriot Mujeeb Ur Rahman was picked by Bengal Tigers. The other player from Afghanistan – Mohammad Shahzad – was picked by the newly-christened Rajputs and Ireland international Paul Stirling joined Kerala Kings.

When it comes to Pakistan cricketers, Shoaib Malik was retained by Punjabi Legends while Pakhtoons were happy to bring back Shahid Afridi as their icon player. England limited-overs skipper Eoin Morgan stayed with Kerala Kings but Darren Sammy was picked by debutants Northern Warriors.

Shane Watson, who was the star from Chennai Super Kings in the 2018 Indian Premier League final, was chosen by Karachians as their icon player.

The main draft will now take place in September and the ten-day tournament will be played in December this year.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *