2021 ADT10      November 19, 2021 to December 04, 2021

Qalandars join Abu Dhabi T10 tournament

Source | KhaleejTimes Sep 22, 2019

The arrival of the new team will represent the best traditions of Pakistan cricket

The Qalandars became the latest high-profile team to join the star-studded Abu Dhabi T10 on Sunday.
With many Pakistani superstars in their team, the Qalandars are going to be one of the biggest crowd-pullers when the league starts in Abu Dhabi on November 14 with a colourful opening ceremony.

And Shaji Ul Mulk, Chairman of the Abu Dhabi T10, welcomed the Qalandars to a tournament he started in style in 2017.

“It’s a big boost to have the Qalandars in our league. You know Qalandars is a top PSL (Pakistan Super League) brand, so having them in our tournament is a massive boost,” Mulk told Khaleej Times on Sunday.

The arrival of the new team that will represent the best traditions of Pakistan cricket has delighted Aref Al Awani, General Secretary of the Abu Dhabi Sports Council.

“The announcement of the Qalandars’ participation is a major boost for Abu Dhabi T10 League’s global profile,” said Al Awani at a press conference in Abu Dhabi on Sunday.

“Just like batting in cricket, we must recognise the importance of key partnerships and certainly our vision to bring the very best of cricket to Abu Dhabi would not have been possible without the cooperation of the Department of Culture and Tourism in Abu Dhabi, T10 Sports Management and the participating teams.”

Meanwhile, Fawad Rana, the Qalandars Chairman, said his team would be looking forward to building a new cricketing legacy in the UAE. “We the Qalandars are delighted to be joining the Abu Dhabi T10 league as we look forward to helping build a new legacy for cricket in the UAE capital. The game is built on big stars and fast action, so the Qalandars are very excited for this opportunity to bring iconic players like Shahid Afridi to play here,” Rana said.

The T10 League – which has revolutionised the sport with the introduction of the shortest format of the game – started in 2017 at the Sharjah Cricket Stadium.

With superstars like Eoin Morgan, Shane Watson, Darren Sammy and Andre Russell enthralling the fans in the first two seasons, the League now moves to Abu Dhabi, having signed a five-year deal this year. Renamed as Abu Dhabi T10, the League will attract some of the biggest names in cricket to the magnificent Zayed Cricket Stadium.