From Suresh Raina to Andre Russell – Global superstars of Abu Dhabi T10 Season 6

  • 0

The Abu Dhabi T10 League kicks off in a few days time at the Zayed Cricket Stadium and the fans are bracing themselves for another season of blitz and glory in cricket’s shortest format.

A host of cricketing icons from all over the world will take centre stage in the capital of the United Arab Emirates, beginning on November 23.

Here’s a look at some of the big names taking field in the Abu Dhabi T10 League Season 6.

Suresh Raina (Deccan Gladiators)

One of the best white-ball cricketers, Suresh Raina joins the ADT10 bandwagon with the Deccan Gladiators. The 35-year-old all-rounder scored 8,654 runs in T20 cricket and is the second highest run-scorer in the history of Indian Premier League (IPL).

He played 226 ODIs, 78 T20Is and 18 Tests, becoming the first Indian cricketer to score a century across all three formats. Raina, who was a part of India’s 2011 World Cup-winning squad, is all set for a first taste of T10 cricket.

Andre Russell (Deccan Gladiators)

The Jamaican powerhouse Andre Russell is renowned for his ability to score runs quickly and is expected to bring more fireworks to the Deccan Gladiators unit. With an astronomic strike rate of 169.04 across 428 T20 matches, Russell established himself as one of the most destructive batters in limited overs cricket.

Russell will be joining the Abu Dhabi T10 League for the fifth time. He won the T10 title three times, twice with the Northern Warriors and once with the Deccan Gladiators last season.

David Miller (Morrisville Samp Army)

“Killer Miller” as he is fondly referred to, David Miller was chosen as the icon player for debutants of the tournament, Morrisville Samp Army. The Protea batter is enjoying a rich vein of form in T20 cricket, having scored 361 runs for South Africa at a strike rate of 164.84, including a century.

Miller represented Bengal Tigers in the inaugural season of T10 League and will be making his first appearance in the tournament since then.

Shakib Al Hasan (Bangla Tigers)

One of the greatest all-rounders in T20 history, Shakib Al Hasan is expected to add tremendous firepower to the Bangla Tigers in his first outing with the team. Shakib is one of the four cricketers to achieve the unique double of 5,000 runs and 300 wickets in T20 cricket.

Shakib Al Hasan represented Kerala Kings in the inaugural edition and will be joining the Abu Dhabi T10 League for the second time.

Harbhajan Singh (Delhi Bulls)

With over 700 international wickets to his credit, Harbhajan Singh brings a plethora of experience and skill to the table and he will be representing Delhi Bulls in Abu Dhabi T10 Season 6. The off-spinner is also capable of striking the ball a long distance and could entertain the crowd with the willow as well.

Harbhajan Singh is also making his debut in the T10 League with the 2022 edition.

Dwayne Bravo (Delhi Bulls)

A bonafide legend of limited overs cricket, Dwayne Bravo’s all-round expertise and skill adds a much-needed Caribbean glamour to the Abu Dhabi T10 League. The highest wicket-taker in the history of T20 cricket (614 wickets), Bravo will be a pivotal presence in the Delhi Bulls camp.

This will be his third season with the Bulls as captain of the franchise and having reached the finals in the last two seasons, Bravo will be keen on taking his side one step ahead to clinch the trophy in 2022.

Kieron Pollard (New York Strikers)

Kieron Pollard is one of cricket’s greatest match-winners of all time and over the years, his all-round exploits have been a great source of entertainment for cricket fans. Pollard, the second-highest run-scorer in T20 cricket with 11,915 runs, also picked up 309 wickets in the shortest format.

The Caribbean superstar will be representing the new franchise New York Strikers this season, in the company of some other big names like Eoin Morgan, Paul Stirling and Ravi Rampaul.

Dwayne Bravo brings the best out of me: Dominic Drakes
Prev Post Dwayne Bravo brings the best out of me: Dominic Drakes
Matchday 7: Hazratullah Zazai makes Bangla Tigers roar
Next Post Matchday 7: Hazratullah Zazai makes Bangla Tigers roar

Leave a Comment:

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *