Delhi Bulls, the prime title-contenders

  • 0

Delhi Bulls have made some smart moves in The Abu Dhabi T10 draft after enduring a mixed bag of fortunes in the last season. The team won and lost once each in the group stage and even tied a match but failed to deliver the goods in the Super League, losing all three matches.

To put a stronger show this time, team owner Neelesh Bhatnagar has acquired the services of last season’s winning coach-captain combination to help the Delhi Bulls reach the top. They also have the fastest bowler of the tournament, Fidel Edwards, who once bowled a 157.7kph rocket.

We glance through the factors that will keep Delhi Bulls in contention for The Abu Dhabi T10 trophy.

Two-time World Cup-winning captain

Delhi Bulls’ biggest asset is their captain Dwayne Bravo and the expansive experience he brings with him.

The Caribbean international is revered as one of the finest all-rounders of the world, having played 275 matches for the West Indies across formats while scoring 6,631 runs and taking 344 wickets. He even won the T20 World Cup in 2012 and 2016.

However, it’s not just his international experience that makes him a world-class talent. Dwayne Bravo has made an immense contribution to franchise cricket across the globe while playing in Australia, Bangladesh, India, Pakistan, South Africa and the West Indies.

Most importantly, the 37-year-old led the Maratha Arabians to the championship in the last edition of The Abu Dhabi T10 and would aim for an encore this time. Delhi Bulls, as a result, have a more than capable leader in Dwayne Bravo that can take them all the way in The Abu Dhabi T10.

Stacked with powerful hitters

The Delhi Bulls have stacked the team with some superstars when it comes to power-hitting, which is the primary requirement in the T10 format.

They have retained Afghan international Mohammad Nabi, who lit the Zayed Cricket Stadium with his fireworks last season. Coming in at number six against the Qalandars, the all-rounder began attacking as soon as he stepped on the crease, hitting four sixes and three fours on his way to a 21-ball 48.

T10 veterans and aggressive strokeplayers Adam LythRavi Bopara and Evin Lewis have previously played the tournament and now will add to the firepower of the Delhi Bulls. Mohammad Nabi’s fellow countryman and young wicketkeeper-batsman Rahmanulla Gurbaz will also join the squad.

Title-winning coach and captain 

West Indian allrounder Dwayne Bravo and coach Andy Flower’s inclusion in the Delhi Bulls’ squad sends a signal to the other teams about the intentions of the team to settle for nothing less than the title this time.

The two won the 2019 edition of the Abu Dhabi T10 with the Maratha Arabians and aim to replicate the success with their new team.

“We remember what we did while we were at Maratha Arabians – the format, structure, and how we can get our players to believe in our process,” said Dwayne Bravo. “I think the same effort, energy and planning will go into this campaign.”

The coach and the captain know what it takes to become the champions, and the coach believes the team is fully competent to taste success this time.

“Delhi Bulls possess a good chance of winning the title, and we believe that our team has the right combination of players to deliver it,” reckoned Andy Flower.

Delhi Bulls squad for The Abu Dhabi T10

Dwayne Bravo, Evin Lewis, Ravi Bopara, Adam Lyth, Sherfane Rutherford, Mohammad Nabi, Ali Khan, Waqar Maqsood, Rahmanulla Gurbaz, Fidel Edwards, Sheraz Ahmad, Kausof Daud, Khalid Shah, Waqar Salmakheil, Nyeem Young, Amad Butt

Delhi Bulls fixtures and schedule for The Abu Dhabi T10

28 January, Thursday: Delhi Bulls vs Bangla Tigers

29 January, Saturday: Maratha Arabians vs Delhi Bulls

30 January, Sunday: Northern Warriors vs Delhi Bulls

5 DAYS TO GO: 5 reasons to watch The Abu Dhabi T10
Prev Post 5 DAYS TO GO: 5 reasons to watch The Abu Dhabi T10
T10: Not just a batsman’s game
Next Post T10: Not just a batsman’s game

Leave a Comment:

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *