2021 ADT10      November 19, 2021 to December 04, 2021

Abu Dhabi to host T10 League exclusively for next five years instead of Sharjah

T10 League

Source | Sport360  Mar 18, 2019

The next edition of UAE’s T10 League will be held completely in Abu Dhabi instead of Sharjah, the organisers have announced.

The 10-over format tournament is being held annually in the UAE since 2017 with Sharjah hosting all matches exclusively so far in the two completed editions.

Now, a new deal has been agreed by the league’s organisers and Abu Dhabi Cricket which will see all T10 matches held at the Zayed Cricket Stadium in Abu Dhabi for a five-year period. The new deal also sees the competition rebranded as the Abu Dhabi T10 League.

“When it started off, the first four days was a proof of concept, a trial,” Shaji Ul Mulk, the league’s founder and chairman told The National.

“Last year was a real test of a full event. Sharjah was also strategic because in the first two years we wanted to make sure we had sell-out crowds. Sharjah, being inside the city, it is easier to attract the crowds.

“It had the result that, in both the years, for the final there were 8,000 to 10,000 people outside the stadium. So in both the years we achieved what we went for. Now, we believe the property is well placed to move to a bigger venue.”

One of the reasons that Abu Dhabi Cricket have signed the deal is the prospect of the bulk of PSL matches being held in Pakistan in the future instead of the UAE.

“As we have seen, PSL have just successfully staged eight games in Karachi right now,” Abu Dhabi Cricket acting chief executive Matt Boucher stated.

“The future of us being a bilateral home is not one, in the long term, we can be completely confident in. So having our own event, with Shaji, is exactly where we want to be.

“I think T10 is one of the most exciting, innovative products in world cricket.”

The inaugural edition of the T10 League in 2017 featured six franchises which was increased to eight in the most recent edition held last year.