Abu Dhabi T10 – Sixth season gets bigger and better!

  • 0

The Abu Dhabi T10 kicks off at the Zayed Cricket Stadium in less than a week and the frantic cricketing season is just about to get a lot more entertaining.

The shortest format in cricket offers a superb blend of action and drama, all packed within 90 minutes. Add to it, you have global stars of the game like Kieron Pollard, Suresh Raina, Andre Russell, David Miller and Shakib Al Hasan gracing the tournament, adding more glamour to it.

The sixth edition of ADT10 will welcome two new teams – Morrisville SAMP Army and New York Strikers.

In a city that stands for cultural diversity and inclusivity, it is fitting that players from 20 different countries will compete for the T10 crown in Abu Dhabi.

How are the teams shaping this time?

Defending champions Deccan Gladiators have made some prolific acquisitions this season. Having roped in West Indian limited overs captain Nicholas Pooran previously, they also signed Suresh Raina earlier this month.

Icon player Andre Russell lit up the stage with an explosive 90-run knock in just 32 balls in last season’s final and returns for another edition of his blitzkrieg in 2022.

The Northern Warriors, the only team in the tournament with two ADT10 titles in their cabinet, will welcome some of the in-form names to their dressing room to strengthen their quest for a third triumph in the tournament.

Sri Lankan spin wizard Wanindu Hasaranga, who picked up 21 wickets with the Gladiators last season and finished as the leading wicket-taker, will be donning the Warriors’ jersey this season

South African batter David Miller makes his first appearance in the T10 League since the inaugural season, will spearhead the newcomers Morrisville SAMP Army.

On paper, they have a perfect blend of experience and firepower in the form of players like Moeen Ali, Johnson Charles and Shimron Hetmyer. Anrich Nortje, who finished with 11 wickets at the T20 World Cup at an economy of just 5.37, will be a player to watch out for.

New York Strikers, the other new entrants, roped in two modern-day white ball legends in Kieron Pollard and Eoin Morgan. Their experience, combined with the muscle of Romario Shepherd, Paul Stirling and Andre Fletcher, makes up for a terrific all-round unit.

Meanwhile, Hazratullah Zazai was the leading run-scorer in the last edition with 353 runs and will continue with the Bangla Tigers for the second time running. The Tigers have also added star all-rounder Shakib Al Hasan to their roster, strengthening their side in both batting and bowling departments.

Chris Lynn was named player of the series in ADT10 2019, when he led by example to steer Maratha Arabians to the title. He joins the home Team Abu Dhabi this time as the icon player and has been appointed their captain.

Dwayne Bravo, T20 cricket’s highest wicket-taker of all time, will continue to lead the Delhi Bulls for the third season running.

The Bulls, who lost the final in the last two editions, have added Australian big-hitter Tim David to their roster in a bid to go one step further and lay hands on the trophy.

English T20 star Dawid Malan and Bhanuka Rajapaksa will be key for The Chennai Braves, who also have some proven-match winners in Carlos Brathwaite and Sikandar Raza in their dugout. Obed McCoy and Maheesh Theeksana add an X-factor to their bowling line-up, making them a force to reckon with.

Plenty of big names and lots of action to look forward to. So grab your popcorn as the sixth season of Abu Dhabi T10 gets going on November 23.

Matchday 9: Openers seal the deal for Northern Warriors in record chase
Prev Post Matchday 9: Openers seal the deal for Northern Warriors in record chase
Players to watch out for in Season 6 of Abu Dhabi T10
Next Post Players to watch out for in Season 6 of Abu Dhabi T10

Leave a Comment:

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *